Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar

By Amigos IAS

Why is it in the news?

  • Recently, the Indian government has instituted the Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar (RVP) to replace multiple science and technology awards given annually.

More about the news

  • RVP comprises 56 prizes recognizing scientists, technologists, and innovators, similar to the prestigious Padma awards, but without a cash component.
  • The awards include three Vigyan Ratna awards, 25 Vigyan Shri awards, 25 Vigyan Yuva-Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar awards, and three Vigyan Team awards.
    • They cover various fields, including physics, chemistry, biology, mathematics, computer science, medicine, engineering, agriculture, environment, technology, atomic energy, space science, and more.
  • The awards aim for adequate representation of women and are open to Persons of Indian Origin (PIOs) in limited numbers.
  • Categories include lifetime contributions, distinguished contributions, exceptional contributions by young scientists, and exceptional contributions by research teams.
  • The awards will be announced annually on May 11 and presented on August 23, starting in 2024.
  • A committee, comprising officials from science ministries, academies, and distinguished scientists, will oversee the awards process.
  • The RVP awards significantly reduce the number of science awards previously given by various ministries, eliminating most internal awards.

·       Means a foreign citizen (except a national of Pakistan, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, China, Iran, Bhutan, Sri Lanka and Nepal).

·       A foreign citizen whose one of the parents/grandparents/great grandparents was born and a permanent resident of India.

·       Who is a spouse of a citizen of India or a PIO.

Signup for newsletter

Receive notifications straight into your inbox

Leave a comment