Home » Blog » PM Janjati Adivasi Nyaya Maha Abhiyan

PM Janjati Adivasi Nyaya Maha Abhiyan

By Amigos IAS

Why is it in the news?

  • The Ministry of Tribal Affairs has launched the “Pradhan Mantri Janjati Adivasi Nyaya Maha Abhiyan” (PM JANMAN).

More about the news

  • The campaign aims to raise awareness and ensure the full coverage of government schemes in Particularly Vulnerable Tribal Groups (PVTGs) majority tribal habitations.
  • Provides essential documents during the campaign, including Aadhar card, community certificate, and Jan Dhan accounts.
  • These documents are required for access to various government schemes such as Ayushman card, PM Kisan Samman Nidhi, and Kisan credit card.



  • Targets the development of 75 Particularly Vulnerable Tribal Groups (PVTGs) left out by schemes of various Ministries/Departments.
  • Funding: 24,104 crores (Central Share: Rs. 15,336 crore, State Share: Rs. 8,768 crore).
  • Objective: Saturate PVTG households with basic facilities, including safe housing, clean drinking water, sanitation, education, health, nutrition, road and telecom connectivity, and sustainable livelihood opportunities.
  • PM-JANMAN involves 9 Ministries, including the Ministry of Tribal Affairs; Further, 11 critical interventions are planned through 9-line Ministries.
  • Setting up Ayush Wellness Centres and extending Ayush facilities to PVTG habitations through Mobile Medical Units.
  • Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship to facilitate skill and vocational training in PVTG habitations, multipurpose centres, and hostels based on community skills.


Particularly Vulnerable Tribal Groups (PVTGs)

·       A more vulnerable subgroup among tribal groups in India.

·       Characterized by primitive traits, geographical isolation, low literacy, zero to negative population growth, and backwardness.

·       75 PVTGs in India spread over 18 States and the Union Territory of Andaman & Nicobar Islands.


Recognition to PVTGs

·       Dhebar Commission in 1973 created Primitive Tribal Groups (PTGs) as a separate category.

·       In 1975, the Indian government identified the most vulnerable tribal groups, designating them as PVTGs, initially comprising 52 groups.

·       An additional 23 groups were included in this category in 1993.

Signup for newsletter

Receive notifications straight into your inbox

Leave a comment

Item added to cart.
0 items - 0.00

Discover more from AMIGOS IAS

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading