ASEAN-India Summit

By Amigos IAS

Why is it in the news?

At the ASEAN-India Summit, the Prime Minister Modi presented a 12-point proposal for strengthening India-ASEAN cooperation.

About the 12-point proposal for India-ASEAN Cooperation

  • Establishing multi-modal connectivity and economic corridors linking South-East Asia, India, West Asia, and Europe.
  • Sharing India’s Digital Public Infrastructure Stack with ASEAN partners.
  • Announcing the ASEAN-India fund for Digital Future, focusing on digital transformation and financial connectivity.
  • Renewing support for the Economic and Research Institute of ASEAN and East Asia (ERIA) as a knowledge partner.
  • Advocating for raising issues faced by the Global South in multilateral forums collectively.
  • Inviting ASEAN countries to join the Global Centre for Traditional Medicine established by WHO in India.
  • Collaborating on Mission LiFE (Lifestyle for Environmental Sustainability).
  • Sharing India’s experience in providing affordable and quality medicines through Jan-Aushadhi Kendras.
  • Calling for collective action against terrorism, terror financing, and cyber-disinformation.
  • Inviting ASEAN countries to join the Coalition for Disaster Resilient Infrastructure.
  • Promoting cooperation in disaster management.
  • Enhancing cooperation on maritime safety, security, and domain awareness.

Some of the key highlights of the summit

Indo-Pacific and South China Sea

  • PM Modi underlined that peace, security, and prosperity in the Indo-Pacific region are in the interest of all nations.
  • He advocated for an Indo-Pacific region where international law, including UNCLOS, applies equally to all countries.
  • Key principles for the Indo-Pacific include freedom of navigation, overflight, and unimpeded lawful commerce.
  • India supports the effective Code of Conduct for the South China Sea that aligns with UNCLOS and considers the interests of non-involved countries.


  • PM Modi expressed full support for the “ASEAN outlook on the Indo-Pacific.”
  • He highlighted the unity of vision between India and ASEAN in the Indo-Pacific region.
  • The East Asia Summit was recognized as a crucial platform for implementing the Indo-Pacific Oceans Initiative.
  • ASEAN’s central position in the vision of the Quad was emphasized, with the Quad’s positive agenda complementing ASEAN mechanisms.


·        QUAD is an informal group of India, the US, Japan and Australia.


·        It is a strategic dialogue with the objective to ensure a free, open, inclusive and prosperous Indo Pacific.


·        Shared values between the nations are: Political democracies; Market economies; and Pluralistic societies.



                             United Nations Convention on the Laws of the Sea (UNCLOS)

Adoption Year·        1982
Objectives·        Establish jurisdictional limits over ocean areas.

·        Facilitate technology and wealth transfer from developed to underdeveloped nations.

·        Require parties to implement regulations and laws to control marine pollution.

Signatory Country·        India (signed UNCLOS in 1982)
Institutions Created by UNCLOS·        International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea (ITLOS): An independent judicial body established by UNCLOS to adjudicate disputes arising out of the convention.

·        International Seabed Authority (ISA): A UN body responsible for regulating the exploration and exploitation of marine non-living resources in international waters.

·        Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf (CLCS): Facilitates the implementation of UNCLOS regarding the establishment of the outer limits of the continental shelf beyond 200 nautical miles.

Signup for newsletter

Receive notifications straight into your inbox

Leave a comment