Hoysala Temples

By Amigos IAS

Why is it in the news?

History of the Temples

  • Chennakeshava Temple (Belur): Built around 1117 AD by Hoysala king Vishnuvardhana to commemorate his victories against the Cholas.
  • Keshava Temple (Somanathapura): Constructed in 1268 by Hoysala General Somanatha, dedicated to Lord Kesava.
  • Hoysaleswara Temple (Halebidu): A 12th-century Shiva temple, believed to be the largest Hoysala-built Shiva temple.
Distinctive features of Hoysala Architecture
  • Use of soapstone, enabling intricate sculptures on temple walls depicting animals, daily life, and epic scenes.
  • Blend of architectural styles: Dravidian, Vesara, and North Indian Nagara.
  • Temples often built on stellate (star-shaped) platforms.
  • Sculptors and masons left their names on the structures.
  • Transition from Jainism to Hinduism reflected in the temple construction.
About the Hoysalas

·       Ruled Karnataka from the 10th to 14th century.

·       Originated as provincial governors under the Western Chalukyas but later established themselves as rulers.

·       Capital cities included Belur and Halebidu.

Signup for newsletter

Receive notifications straight into your inbox

Leave a comment