1. Home
  2. Blog
  3. UPSC

Utkala Dibasa: The story of Odisha state’s formation

Why is it in the news?

  • Odisha Day, also known as Utkala Dibasa, is celebrated on April 1 in the state of Odisha.

More about the news

  • Odisha, formerly known as Orissa, was established as a separate state on April 1, 1936.
  • It was carved out from the erstwhile Bihar and Orissa Province, along with the inclusion of Koraput and Ganjam districts from the Madras Presidency.
  • Odisha was one of the first Indian states to be consciously created on a linguistic basis.
  • The region of Odisha had a unique political identity dating back approximately 3,000 years.
  • In 1568, Odisha lost its political independence and came under the rule of various powers including the Bengal Sultanate and the Marathas before British control in 1803.
  • Despite being a part of the Bengal Presidency for 109 years, movements for an Odia-speaking state emerged in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
  • The Utkal Sabha, formed in 1882, marked the beginning of the political movement for the creation of Odisha.
  • Madhusudan Das, a prominent leader, played a significant role in spearheading the statehood movement.
  • The Indian National Congress adopted the reorganization of provinces on a linguistic basis as part of its agenda after 1920.
  • The Orissa Province was created in 1936 following thorough inquiries by three separate committees, amidst growing sub-nationalism and administrative considerations.

Get free UPSC Updates straight to your inbox!

Discover more from AMIGOS IAS

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading