Home » Blog » Sahitya Akademi Awards 2023

Sahitya Akademi Awards 2023

By Amigos IAS

Why is it in the news?

  • Sahitya Akademi declares the annual awards for 2023.
  • Recognizes exceptional books published between January 2017 and December 31, 2021.

About Sahitya Akademi Awards

  • Instituted in 1954.
  • Literary honor conferred annually by Sahitya Akademi.
  • Recognizes outstanding books of literary merit in 24 major Indian languages.
  • Awards given to books first published during the five years immediately preceding the year of the award.
  • Aims to recognize and promote excellence in Indian writing while acknowledging emerging literary trends.
  • Second-highest literary honor by the Government of India, following the Jnanpith award.

Other Sahitya Akademi Awards

  • Sahitya Akademi Bal Sahitya Puraskar: Recognizing an author’s overall contribution to children’s literature.
  • Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puraskar: Applicable to books published by authors aged 35 and below.

 Criteria for Awardee

  • Author must be an Indian national.
  • The award is conferred to living writers and is not awarded posthumously.
  • Eligible works must represent outstanding contributions to their respective language and literature.
  • In case of equal merit, criteria such as overall literary contribution and the standing of authors are considered.


Jnanpith Award

·       Prestigious Indian literary award presented annually by Bhartiya Jnanpith.

·       Recognizes outstanding contributions to literature.

·       Instituted in 1961.

·       Exclusively awarded to Indian writers in languages listed in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution of India and English.

·       No posthumous awards.

Signup for newsletter

Receive notifications straight into your inbox

Leave a comment

Item added to cart.
0 items - 0.00

Discover more from AMIGOS IAS

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading