Home » Blog » RS passed bills modifying lists of SC and ST Communities

RS passed bills modifying lists of SC and ST Communities

By Amigos IAS

Why is it in the news?

  • Rajya Sabha passed the Constitution (Scheduled Tribes) Order Amendment Bill, 2024 and Constitution (Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes) Order Amendment Bill, 2024.

More about the news

  • The primary objective of these bills is to modify and update the lists of Scheduled Tribes in Odisha and Andhra Pradesh.
  • This involves adding new communities, recognizing synonyms, and incorporating phonetic variations to ensure a more comprehensive and accurate representation of tribal groups within the ST category.

 Inclusions in Odisha’s ST List:

  • The bill includes several additions to Odisha’s ST list, such as Pauri Bhuyan and Paudi Bhuyan as synonyms of the Bhuyan tribe, Chuktia Bhunjia as a synonym of the Bhunjia tribe, and Bondo as a sub-tribe of the Bondo Poraja tribe.
  • Furthermore, synonyms like Mankidia for the Mankirdia tribe are also included.
  • The bill also entails the shifting of two entries, Tamadia and Tamudia, from the Scheduled Castes list to the Scheduled Tribes list in Odisha.
  • Additionally, Odisha’s ST list is expanded by adding two new communities: the Muka Dora community and the Konda Reddy (and synonyms) community.

Inclusions in Andhra Pradesh’s ST List:

  • In Andhra Pradesh, the bill adds Bondo Porja and Khond Porja as synonyms of the Porja tribe and Konda Savaras as a synonym for the Savaras tribe.


Particularly Vulnerable Tribal Groups (PVTGs)

·       The bills’ provisions are significant for Particularly Vulnerable Tribal Groups (PVTGs), which are identified as a more vulnerable subgroup among tribal communities due to various factors such as geographical isolation, low literacy, and backwardness.

·       India has 75 PVTGs spread across 18 states and the Union Territory of Andaman & Nicobar Islands, with Odisha having the largest population of PVTGs followed by Madhya Pradesh.

·       The recognition of PVTGs began with the Dhebar Commission in 1973, which identified Primitive Tribal Groups (PTGs) as a separate category.

·       In 1975, the Indian government initiated the identification of the most vulnerable tribal groups, designating them as PVTGs, with an initial declaration of 52 such groups.

·       Over the years, additional tribes have been included in the PVTG category, highlighting the government’s efforts to address the specific needs and vulnerabilities of these communities.

Signup for newsletter

Receive notifications straight into your inbox

Leave a comment

Item added to cart.
0 items - 0.00

Discover more from AMIGOS IAS

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading