1. Home
  2. Blog
  3. UPSC

Pritzker Architecture Prize 2024

Why is it in the news?

  • Riken Yamamoto, a Japanese architect, was awarded the 2024 Pritzker Architecture Prize, often referred to as the “Architecture Nobel,” becoming the ninth laureate from Japan.

 More about the news

  • Riken Yamamoto’s approach prioritizes family and community in his projects over the unseen, focusing on incorporating people into his designs and fostering interaction and visibility.
  • His works include the Hiroshima Nishi Fire Station with a transparent facade, the Koyasu Elementary School featuring open terraces for interactive learning, and the Hotakubo Housing emphasizing relational living.
  • Yamamoto’s architectural philosophy aims to combat societal isolation by promoting visibility and interaction within architectural spaces, fostering harmony across cultures and phases of life.
Additional information

·       The Pritzker Architecture Prize, established by Jay A Pritzker and his wife Cindy, aims to honour living architects whose work demonstrates talent, vision, and commitment to humanity and the built environment.

·       Winners are selected from a pool of nominees by a jury, with past laureates, academics, and professionals among the nominators, and the prize is awarded in May.

·       Japanese architects have won the largest number of Pritzker prizes, followed by the United States, with Kenzo Tange being the first Japanese laureate in 1987.


Get free UPSC Updates straight to your inbox!

Discover more from AMIGOS IAS

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading