1. Home
  2. Blog
  3. UPSC

New Schengen Visa Rules for Indians

Why is it in the news?

  • Recently, the European Union (EU) has announced the new Schengen visa rules for Indian nationals.

About the rules

  • Indian nationals can now enter any Schengen country multiple times for up to two years, with the possibility of extension for an additional five years.
  • During their visits, Indian travellers can stay in Schengen countries like visa-free nationals, without the need for repeated visa applications for each visit.
  • Despite the extended visa duration, Indian nationals are not permitted to work and earn in Schengen countries like local citizens. The visa is solely for travel and tourism purposes.
  • To be eligible for the two-year visa, applicants must have successfully obtained and utilized two Schengen visas in the past three years, demonstrating a history of responsible travel and adherence to visa regulations.
Schengen Area

·        The Schengen area comprises 29 European countries, of which 25 are EU member states. This includes countries such as Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Spain, and others, along with non-EU members Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland.


Get free UPSC Updates straight to your inbox!

Get Updates on New Notification about APPSC, TSPSC and UPSC

Get Current Affairs Updates Directly into your Inbox

Discover more from AMIGOS IAS

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading