1. Home
  2. Blog
  3. UPSC

INS Imphal

Why is it in the news?

  • The INS Imphal is the third in the series of Project 15B stealth guided missile destroyers commissioned into the Indian Navy.
  • Part of the Visakhapatnam class, these destroyers are known for their advanced capabilities and cutting-edge technology.

More about the news

  • The ship was designed and constructed by the Warship Design Bureau, an in-house organization of the Indian Navy, showcasing the nation’s prowess in naval architecture.
  • It incorporates state-of-the-art stealth technology, enhancing its survivability by minimizing its radar cross-section and making it less susceptible to detection by enemy forces.
  • A notable aspect of INS Imphal is that it is the first warship named after a city in the Northeastern region, specifically the city of Imphal. This naming tradition adds a regional and cultural significance to the vessel.
  • With an indigenous content of approximately 75 percent, INS Imphal represents a significant stride in India’s efforts toward self-reliance in defence production.
  • The armament includes advanced weaponry such as BrahMos surface-to-surface missiles, medium-range surface-to-air missiles, indigenous anti-submarine rocket launchers, and a 76mm super rapid gun mount, showcasing its versatility and firepower.
  • The destroyer is designed to operate effectively under Nuclear, Biological, and Chemical (NBC) warfare conditions, highlighting its strategic importance in various combat scenarios.
  • High levels of automation contribute to operational efficiency, and the incorporation of stealth features enhances its ability to operate discreetly, avoiding detection by adversaries.
  • INS Imphal is capable of attaining speeds exceeding 30 knots (56 km/hour), showcasing its agility and swift response capabilities during naval operations.


Project 15B

路聽聽聽聽聽聽 Project 15B represents the next generation of stealth guided-missile destroyers for the Indian Navy.

路聽聽聽聽聽聽 These destroyers are being constructed at the Mazagon Dock Shipbuilders Limited (MDL) and are considered follow-on classes to the P15A (Kolkata Class) Destroyers.

路聽聽聽聽聽聽 The four ships in the project are named after major cities from all four corners of the country: Visakhapatnam, Mormugao, Imphal, and Surat, symbolizing the diverse representation and strategic importance of these regions in India’s naval capabilities.

Get free UPSC Updates straight to your inbox!

Get Updates on New Notification about APPSC, TSPSC and UPSC

Get Current Affairs Updates Directly into your Inbox

Discover more from AMIGOS IAS

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading