1. Home
  2. Blog
  3. UPSC

ASEAN Defence Ministers’ Meeting – Plus (ADMM-Plus)

 Why is it in the news?

  • The Indian Defence Minister Rajnath Singh recently attended the 10th ASEAN Defence Ministers Meeting – Plus (ADMM-Plus) in Jakarta, Indonesia.

About ASEAN Defence Ministers Meeting Plus (ADMM Plus):

  • ADMM-Plus is an annual meeting that brings together the Defence Ministers of the 10 ASEAN countries and eight Dialogue Partners, including Australia, China, India, Japan, New Zealand, Republic of Korea, Russia, and the United States.
  • The inaugural ADMM-Plus was held in Ha Noi, Vietnam, in 2010, and since 2017, it has been held annually.


Objectives of ADMM-Plus:

  • To assist ASEAN Member States in building capacity to address common security challenges.
  • To promote mutual trust and confidence between defence establishments through increased dialogue and transparency.


Key Highlights of the Meeting

  • India reaffirmed its commitment to the freedom of navigation, overflight, and lawful commerce in international waters in accordance with international laws, including the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS) 1982.
  • India expressed its dedication to fostering practical, forward-looking, and result-oriented cooperation with ADMM-Plus to enhance maritime security in the region.
  • Recognizing the threat of terrorism, India proposed to co-chair the Expert Working Group (EWG) on Counter-Terrorism.


Steps Taken by India for Maritime Security

·       SAGAR Programme (Security and Growth for All in the Region): This initiative focuses on ensuring peace, stability, and prosperity for India in the Indian Ocean region.

·       The Indo-Pacific Maritime Domain Awareness (IPMDA) Initiative: IPMDA aims to enhance maritime domain awareness in the Indo-Pacific region through technology and training, increasing transparency in critical waterways.



Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

·       ASEAN is a political and economic organization aimed at promoting economic growth and regional stability among its member countries.

·       ASEAN consists of 10 member countries: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.

·       It was established in 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand, with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) by the Founding Fathers of ASEAN: Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand. Subsequently, other countries joined ASEAN.

·       The ASEAN Summit is the highest policy-making body in ASEAN, comprising the heads of state or government of ASEAN member states, and it is held twice annually. The first ASEAN Summit was held in Bali, Indonesia, in 1976.


Get free UPSC Updates straight to your inbox!

Get Updates on New Notification about APPSC, TSPSC and UPSC

Get Current Affairs Updates Directly into your Inbox

Discover more from AMIGOS IAS

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading