1. Home
  2. Blog
  3. UPSC

Appointment of Election Commissioners

Why is it in the news?

  • Gyanesh Kumar and Sukhbir Singh Sandhu have been appointed as Election Commissioners by a high-powered panel chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.
  • Their appointment is in accordance with the new Chief Election Commissioner and Other Election Commissioners (Appointment, Conditions of Service, and Term of Office) Act, 2023.

More about the news

  • The selection committee, headed by the Prime Minister, also includes a Union Minister nominated by the Prime Minister and the Leader of Opposition (LoP) in the Lok Sabha.
  • However, the appointment procedure under the new law is facing legal challenges, with petitions challenging it scheduled for urgent hearing in the Supreme Court.
  • The Supreme Court ruling in March 2023 mandated the selection panel to include the Prime Minister, LoP, and Chief Justice of India (CJI), but the current process excludes the CJI.

Get free UPSC Updates straight to your inbox!

Get Updates on New Notification about APPSC, TSPSC and UPSC

Get Current Affairs Updates Directly into your Inbox

Discover more from AMIGOS IAS

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading